Live, Love, Laugh

Time Pass by… Fast

July 14th, 2007

Another week has passed, more memories have been created. The Opening Session was a success. Samantha (USA), Jessica (USA), and I met with our home team the very first time, though it’s very possible this team will change, but it was great to see how the newcomers getting themselves together and how excited they are. Though it wasn’t easy to get the group keep the conversations going but we can feel that slowly we are starting to get to know each other.

Well, as always, the participants had their Alumni Panel the next day, just so they have a chance to hear what alumni’s has to say to them. Then the modules so the Performance Art people could balance the two groups (not cast yet, just Red and Green).

One of the most interesting workshops “Stereotype” also took place that same day. The participants seem to really taken something with them by the end of the workshop. One of the Chinese participants question the education staff, Scott (USA), why there is a separate sheet of paper for Taiwan, she firmly believe that Taiwan is part of China. Oh, well… this will be a fascinating discussion topic later on. I am more than happy to talk about it and to hear their reason on why Taiwan is part of China.

Shawn gave us a training session on “Working Style,” and introduces us to different type of type of person. One of the things that stick with me is “Don’t only reflect on your mistake and learn but also reflect on your success.” How true! We often think about what we have done wrong and how we can make it better but forgot to think about what we have done right and how we can carry it out again.

Conflict resolution was also covered in this workshop; we had some interesting exercises and approach to reach our goals. We often only see position but not the interests (reasons) underneath. I really felt the importance of asking those “why” question and dig deeper to find a win-win solution.

There was also a session on “Leadership” by Terry, he told us that one thing he had learned is to learn from mistake and doing that, we must first accept the responsibility and ask for help. Don’t over analyze the error and laugh about it after. He gave us tips on varies concerns. It gave me some idea how to deal with it if things happen.

I went to the Social Security office today to apply for a Social Security Card (and SSN “Social Security Number.” Surprisingly, things went relatively well, except for the fact that I had my Swiss pocket knife in my bag that I must store it else where before entry but it went quite fast.

The afternoon was amazing; the individual staff crew had the Team Building workshop. I learned a great idea about myself and also some insight about the others. For example, I realized how distributed I was when people started to blame the others though everyone is on the same boat. How much I dislike to be interrupted and I also do it myself, which is one thing I need to improve myself on. How things could only be done sometimes by letting it go instead of pushing it. Carol did a great job helping us to reflect and think about us as individual and as a group. Finally, Friday and it’s weekend, I get to sleep in a bit that’s why I got this time to actually write this entry. 

Workshop This Week:

 

  • Stereotype
  • Working Style
  • Conflict Resolution
  • Leadership
  • Team Building 

Time to bed, night and have a sweet dream

Wind

Leave a comment